Show navigation

Available in:

OnDemand Webinar
Audio & Reference Manual
MP3 Download

Pupil Records: Rules, Responsibilities and Requirements

Stay up-to-date with current privacy law rights and gain the knowledge needed to manage student records.

This topic provides educators, advocates, and parents with detailed information regarding the obligations of schools and post-secondary institutions to protect student information and education records from improper disclosure to third-parties, as well as how to ensure compliance with laws governing other aspects of student privacy. Learn how to ensure student records are properly safeguarded from improper disclosure, when schools may disclose information to third-parties without written authorization, and what records must be relative to requests for disclosure of student records. Review federal law governing the parental right to access and review educational materials to be used in educating their child during the school year and restrictions regarding surveys of students on sensitive material. Gain an understanding of how HIPAA regulations affect student privacy and what is required for safeguarding student counseling records when the counseling is provided with federal funding.

Runtime: 88 minutes
Purchase Options

More Program Information

Why Lorman?

Over 31 years and 1.4 million customers worth of experience providing continuing education. Our passion is providing you world-class training to help you succeed in business and as a professional.

Agenda

Laws That Regulate Student Records and Privacy

  • Family Education Rights and Privacy Act
  • Pupil Privacy Protection Amendment
  • ADA-PEP Regulations
  • State Laws

FERPA

  • Overview of Statute
  • Protecting Records From Improper Disclosure

??" Requirement of Written Parental Authorization

??" Exceptions to Requirement for Written Authorization

??" Records Regarding Requests for Disclosure and Disclosures

??" Interaction Between FERPA and HIPPA

  • Parameters of Parental Right to Access Education Records

??" Exceptions to Right of Access

  • Parental Right to Seek Amendment of Education Records

??" Notice

??" Request for Amendment and Required Response

??" Parental Right to Hearing Regarding Request for Amendment

??" Enforcement of FERPA

Pupil Privacy Protection Amendment

  • Parental Right to Access Educational Materials
  • Restrictions Regarding Student Surveys
  • Other Requirements Regarding Student Privacy

ADA-PEP Counseling Regulations

  • What Counseling Is Covered by Regulations?
  • Restrictions Imposed on Disclosure of Counseling Records
  • Enforcement of Regulations

State Laws Governing Student Privacy

Purchase Options

More Program Information

Why Lorman?

Over 31 years and 1.4 million customers worth of experience providing continuing education. Our passion is providing you world-class training to help you succeed in business and as a professional.

Credits

OnDemand Webinar

Applications have not yet been submitted for Delaware, Idaho, Kentucky, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Wyoming CLE for this course. However, if you are interested in obtaining CLE for any of the listed states or have any additional credit questions please email us at [email protected] or call us at 866-352-9540.

This course was last revised on March 22, 2018.

Call 1-866-352-9540 for further credit information.

  • AK CLE 1.5
     
  • Alaska attorneys may receive 1.5 hours of continuing legal education for completing this program. Please contact the Alaska Bar Association or go to www.alaskabar.org for details regarding reciprocity with other states.
     
  • AL CLE 1.5
     
  • This course or a portion thereof has been approved by the Alabama State Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Commission for a maximum of 1.5 hours credit.
     
  • Arizona CLE 1.5
     
  • The Arizona State Bar does not pre-approve or pre-certify MCLE programs. However, records of this program and attendance will be maintained by Lorman Education Services for auditing purposes. This activity may qualify for up to 1.5 hours toward your annual CLE requirement for the State Bar of Arizona.
     
  • CO CLE 2.0
     
  • This program may qualify for 2.0 credit hours through the Colorado Supreme Court Board of Continuing Legal and Judicial Education through reciprocity. This course is accredited in other jurisdictions such as New Jersey. To receive CLE credit for this program, a home study affidavit must be submitted to the Supreme Court Board of Continuing Legal and Judicial Education.
     
  • CT CLE 1.0
     
  • Neither the Connecticut Judicial Branch nor the Commission on Minimum Continuing Legal Education approve or accredit CLE providers or activities. This course has been approved for CLE credit in jurisdictions aside from CT and therefore it automatically meets the content and delivery requirements in Connecticut. Credit is based on a 60 minute credit hour and shall be awarded as follows: 1.0 CLE credit(s).
     
  • HI CLE 1.25
     
  • This program was approved by the Hawaii State Board of Continuing Legal Education for 1.25 CLE credit hours.
     
  • IL CLE 1.25
     
  • This course was approved for a total of 1.25 hours of MCLE Credit by the Illinois MCLE Board.
     
  • ME CLE 1.0
     
  • This course has been approved by the State of Maine Board of Overseers of the Bar. Lawyers who complete this course shall receive 1.0 hours of CLE credit under M. Bar R. 12.
     
  • MS CLE 1.5
     
  • This program has been approved by the Mississippi Commission on Continuing Legal Education for a maximum of 1.5 credit hours.
     
  • MT CLE 1.5
     
  • This program has been approved by the Montana Commission of Continuing Legal Education for a total of 1.5 CLE credits.
     
  • ND CLE 1.5
     
  • North Dakota CLE policy does not allow for pre-approval of any self-study courses. This course may qualify for up to 1.5 hours of CLE credit.
     
  • NH MCLE 1.5
     
  • NH MCLE does not approve or accredit CLE activities for the NH Minimum CLE requirement. Lorman Education Services believes this course meets the requirement of NH Supreme Court Rule 53 and may qualify for CLE credit(s). Program Length: 90 Minutes.
     
  • NJ CLE 1.8
     
  • This program has been approved by the Board on Continuing Legal Education of the Supreme Court of New Jersey for 1.8 hours of total CLE credit.
     
  • NV CLE 1.5
     
  • This program has been approved by the Nevada Board of Continuing Legal Education for 1.5 CLE hours.
     
  • PA CLE 1.0
     
  • This Distance Learning program has been approved by the Pennsylvania Continuing Legal Education Board for 1.0 hours of substantive law, practice and procedure CLE credit.
     
  • RI CLE 1.5
     
  • This program has been approved by the Rhode Island Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Commission for 1.5 hours of CLE credit.
     
  • TN CLE 1.47
     
  • This program has been approved as a distance learning format by the Tennessee Commission on Continuing Legal Education for a maximum of 1.47 hours of credit.
     
  • VT CLE 1.5
     
  • This program has been approved by the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Board of Vermont for 1.5 hours of self-study CLE credit.
     
  • WA CLE 1.5
     
  • This program has been approved by the Washington State Board of Continuing Legal Education for 1.5 hours of A/V credit under the Law & Legal Procedure category.
     
  • WI CLE 1.5
     
  • This program has been approved by the Board of Bar Examiners for 1.5 hours for use toward the Wisconsin Mandatory CLE requirement.
     
  • WV MCLE 1.8
     
  • This program has been approved by the West Virginia State Bar MCLE Commission for 1.8 MCLE hours.
     
  • AZ SCHOOL 1.0
     
  • This course is applicable for 1.0 professional development or clock hours for education professionals.
     
  • CO SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This course is applicable for CEU's for Colorado Educators. This course will be 1.5 clock hour(s).
     
  • DE SCHOOL 1.0
     
  • This program is applicable for 1.0 hours of certification for school professionals in Delaware.
     
  • HI SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This professional growth activity could be used to meet part of the Hawai'i Teacher Performance Standards provided the activity links with your subject matter field.
     
  • ID SCHOOL 1.0
     
  • This course is applicable for education professionals and may qualify for up to 1.0 clock hour(s) toward certificate renewal. This program must be educationally related to your professional development to qualify.
     
  • IN SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This program is applicable for Educators. Please contact the Indiana Department of Education for further information regarding qualifying seminars and workshops. Program Length: 1.5 hour(s)
     
  • LA SCHOOL 1.0
     
  • This seminar may qualify for 1.0 CLUs for school professionals. These CLUs are contingent upon approval from the school professional's local school system.
     
  • ME SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This course is applicable for renewal credit(s) for school professionals in Maine if it compliments your teaching. Please contact the Maine Department of Education for further details.
     
  • MN SCHOOL 1.0
     
  • This course may be appropriate for clock hours. It is the responsibility of an individual teacher to find appropriate clock hour opportunities. The Minnesota Board of Teaching and the Minnesota Department of Education do not pre-approve clock hour opportunities. Ultimately it is up to the discretion of the local continuing education committee to approve any clock hours you submit.
     
  • MO SCHOOL
     
  • This course may qualify for continuing professional development credit for school professionals.
     
  • MT SCHOOL 1.0
     
  • Lorman Education Services is an approved provider through the office of Public Instruction. This seminar qualifies for 1.0 renewal unit(s) for Montana Teacher Licensure.
     
  • NH SCHOOL
     
  • This course is applicable for professional growth hours for school professionals in New Hampshire. Course Length: 1.5 hour(s)
     
  • OK SCHOOL 2.0
     
  • The Oklahoma State Department of Education does not pre-approve courses. To obtain course approval each teacher must submit the desired course(s) to their local district for approval. Course Length: 2.0 hour(s).
     
  • OR SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This course is applicable for PDU's. Please check the rules and requirements in your state.
     
  • SD SCHOOL 1.0
     
  • This course is applicable for contact hours for school professionals in South Dakota.
     
  • TN SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This course is applicable for Professional Development Points for Licensure Renewal for Educators. PDPs must be approved in the state licensure system. Please check with your Local Education Agency or the Office of Educator Licensing and preparation in TN.
     
  • TX SCHOOL
     
  • Lorman Business Center, Inc. is a registered CPE provider with the Texas Education Agency.
     
  • UT SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This course is applicable for 1.5 hours toward relicensure points for UT Educators. Please seek prior approval from your principal or supervisor.
     
  • VT SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This course is applicable for professional learning credit for educators.
     
  • WI SCHOOL 1.47
     
  • This course may be used toward your Professional Development Plan if it meets your individual goals. Please contact DPI with questions regarding individual PDPs. Course Length: 1.5 hour(s)
     

To earn each credit Lorman offers through the OnDemand learning platform, you need to watch 100% of the program. Also, for certain credits you will need to fulfill additional requirements which will be displayed on the "credits" tab when viewing the course.

Audio & Reference Manual

  • Arizona CLE 1.5
     
  • CA MCLE 1.5
     
  • CT CLE 1.5
     
  • GA CLE 1.5
     
  • HI CLE 1.5
     
  • IL CLE 1.5
     
  • ME CLE 1.5
     
  • MT CLE 1.5
     
  • NJ CLE 1.8
     
  • NV CLE 1.5
     
  • VT CLE 1.5
     
  • WA CLE 1.5
     
  • WV MCLE 1.8
     
The CLE Code is ONLY a requirement when applying for CLE Credit in California (for participatory credit), Kansas, New Jersey or New York. Other states do not need to supply the CLE Code to apply for CLE credit.

MP3 Download

  • Arizona CLE 1.5
     
  • CA MCLE 1.5
     
  • CT CLE 1.5
     
  • HI CLE 1.5
     
  • IL CLE 1.5
     
  • ME CLE 1.5
     
  • MT CLE 1.5
     
  • NJ CLE 1.8
     
  • NV CLE 1.5
     
  • VT CLE 1.5
     
  • WA CLE 1.5
     
  • WV MCLE 1.8
     
The CLE Code is ONLY a requirement when applying for CLE Credit in California (for participatory credit), Kansas, New Jersey or New York. Other states do not need to supply the CLE Code to apply for CLE credit.
Purchase Options

More Program Information

Why Lorman?

Over 31 years and 1.4 million customers worth of experience providing continuing education. Our passion is providing you world-class training to help you succeed in business and as a professional.

Faculty

James P. Evans

James P. Evans

Barclay Damon, LLP

  • Partner with Barclay Damon, LLP
  • More than 25 years’ experience representing educational institutions, including K-12 and post-secondary institutions, in all facets of education law
  • Represents numerous educational institutions, including private schools, charter schools and public school districts concerning all facets of education law, including student privacy
  • Advises not-for-profit corporations regarding compliance issues and matters pertaining to education rights
  • Has obtained significant experience representing parents, students and educational institutions regarding all facets of education law, including federal and state law compliance
  • Adjunct professor of education at Le Moyne College, where he has constructed and taught a master's level course in education law for school administrators over the past nine years
  • Frequent speaker and lecturer regarding school law education law and related matters
Purchase Options

More Program Information

Why Lorman?

Over 31 years and 1.4 million customers worth of experience providing continuing education. Our passion is providing you world-class training to help you succeed in business and as a professional.

All of your training, right here at Lorman.

Pay once and get a full year of unlimited training in any format, any time!

  • Live Webinars
  • OnDemand Webinars
  • MP3 Downloads
  • Course Manuals
  • Audio Recordings*
  • Executive Reports
  • White Papers and Articles
  • Sponsored Live Webinars

Additional benefits include:

  • State Specific Credit Tracker
  • Members Only Newsletter
  • All-Access Pass Course Concierge

* For audio recordings you only pay shipping

Questions? Call 877-296-2169 to speak with a real person.

Sign Up Today
With This Course

Access to all training products for one year
$699/year

Unlimited Lorman Training

With the All-Access Pass there is no guessing what you will need for your yearly training budget. $699 will cover all of your training needs for an entire year!

Easy Registrations

Once you purchase your All-Access Pass you will never be any further than one-click away from attending any Lorman training course.

Invest in Yourself

You haven't gotten to where you are professionally by luck alone; it's taken a lot of hard work and training. Invest in yourself with the All-Access Pass.

Product ID: 402974
Published 2018
Purchase Options

Available in Multiple Formats

Purchase this course and learn on your schedule!